Members

Process

Steven De Meester

Sustainable design of chemical process chains via chemical engineering, design & up-scaling, and sustainability analysis

E steven.demeester@ugent.be

T +32 56 24 12 36

Kristof Demeestere

Analysis and technology of organic minor components

E kristof.demeestere@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 59 65

Jo Dewulf

Clean technology, sustainability & footprinting analysis, life cycle analysis, thermodynamics based resource efficiency

E jo.dewulf@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 59 49

Dagmar D'hooge

Design of polymerization and polymer processing techniques, functional material design, multi-scale modeling

E dagmar.dhooge@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 17 72

Vladimir Galvita

Heterogeneous catalysis, low carbon technology, chemical looping and energy storage processes

E vladimir.galvita@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 58 30

Geraldine Heynderickx

Reactor hydrodynamics, multiphase flow regimes, computational fluid dynamics (CFD)

E geraldine.heynderickx@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 17 53

Philippe Heynderickx

Heterogeneous catalysis, chemical kinetics, modeling and design of chemical processes, application of renewable resources for environmental applications

E philippe.heynderickx@ghent.ac.kr

T +82 32 626 4206

Guy Marin (Steering committee)

Chemical kinetics, modeling and design of chemical processes and products from molecule to full scale

E guy.marin@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 17 60

Ingmar Nopens

Model-based analysis and optimization of bioprocesses by means of kinetic models, CFD and Population Balance Models

E ingmar.nopens@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 59 39

Marie-Françoise Reyniers

Fundamental modeling of large scale catalytic and radical processes

E mariefrancoise.reyniers@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 17 35

Frederik Ronsse

Slow and fast pyrolysis for the production of biochar and bio-oils using biomass containing residue streams

E frederik.ronsse@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 62 00

Maarten Sabbe

First principles reaction engineering for various chemical processes: quantitarive prediction of chemical reaction rates

E maarten.sabbe@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 17 33

Mark Saeys

Catalytic process optimization via modelling-guided catalyst design, experimental kinetic validation and characterization

E mark.saeys@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 17 54

Georgios Stefanidis

Urban waste valorization and plasma reactor technology

E georgios.stefanidis@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 58 30

Joris Thybaut

Catalytic reaction and process engineering for the transition from fossil to renewable resources

E joris.thybaut@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 17 52

Kevin Van Geem (Director)

Thermochemical reaction engineering with in particular the transition from fossil to renewable resources

E kevin.vangeem@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 55 97

Veronique Van Speybroeck

First principle modeling of chemical transformations within nanoporous materials

E veronique.vanspeybroeck@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 65 58

Paul Van Steenberge

Polymer reaction engineering, chemical reactor design, multiscale modeling, scale-up, recycling, HSE management

E paul.vansteenberge@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 17 72

Kim Verbeken

Corrosion, hydrogen induced cracking, high temperature thermodynamics and pyrometallurgical processes

E kim.verbeken@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 04 53

Christophe Walgraeve

Environmental chemistry and technology; air quality, polution and treatment; odour nuisance

E christophe.walgraeve@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 59 53

Advanced Materials

Ludwig Cardon

Characterization and 3D processing of polymers and composites

E ludwig.cardon@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 03 90

Catherine Cazin

Sustainable transition metal chemistry and homogeneous catalysis, catalyst and ligand design for organic synthesis

E catherine.cazin@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 96 84

Klaartje De Buysser

Synthesis of metal oxide particles and thin films for advanced applications

E klaartje.debuysser@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 44 41

Karen De Clerck

Production and analysis of fibres in relation with the end-characteristics of the fibrous materials

E karen.declerck@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 57 40

Jolien Dendooven

Atomic Layer Deposition, Thin film technology, In-situ surface and thin film characterization during depostion and annealing

E jolien.dendooven@UGent.be

T +32 9 264 43 65

Christophe Detavernier

Atomic Layer Deposition, Thin film technology, In-situ surface and thin film characterization during depostion and annealing

E christophe.detavernier@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 43 54

Gijs Du Laing

Technology development for remediation of metal-contaminated environments, metal recovery from waste streams

E gijs.dulaing@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 59 95

Filip Du Prez (Steering Committee)

Polymer functionalization, dynamic and self-healing polymers, renewable materials functionalization

E filip.duprez@ugent.be

T + 32 9 264 45 03

José Martins

Nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy for molecular structure and intermolecular interaction studies

E jose.martins@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 44 69

Steven Nolan

Organometallic chemistry and catalysis, development of novel organometallic complexes for homogeneous catalytic reactions

E steven.nolan@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 44 58

Kim Ragaert

Sustainable use and recycling of polymers and composites, advanced polymer processing

E kim.ragaert@ugent.be

T +32 9 331 03 92

Chris Stevens (Steering Committee)

Heterocyclic synthesis, microreactor technology, chemical modification of renewable resources

E chris.stevens@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 59 57

Johan Van der Eycken

Chiral ligands for asymmetric transition metal catalysis, total synthesis of complex organic molecules for drug discovery

E johan.vandereycken@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 44 80

Pascal Van Der Voort (Steering Committee)

Advanced nanoporous hybrid materials for green processes, water purification and urban mining

E pascal.vandervoort@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 44 42

Isabel Van Driessche (Steering Committee)

Controlled synthesis and surface chemistry of metal oxide nanoparticles, coating development

E isabel.vandriessche@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 44 33

Kristof Van Hecke

Single crystal X-ray diffraction (crystallography) for the determination of molecular structures

E kristof.vanhecke@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 48 70

An Verberckmoes

Catalytic biomass conversion reactions, development and upscaling of catalysts and adsorbent materials

E an.verberckmoes@ugent.be

T +32 9 243 25 22

Johan Winne

Development of synthetic tools and organic building blocks for research in biomedical and materials sciences

E johan.winne@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 44 61

Biotech

Marjan De Mey

Optimisation of microbial cell factories through metabolic engineering and synthetic biology

E marjan.demey@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 60 28

Erik Meers

Resource recovery from biobased sources, environmental chemistry in agro-industry

E erik.meers@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 60 01

Korneel Rabaey (Steering committee)

Resource recovery, CO2 conversion, electrochemical engineering, fermentation, water treatment

E korneel.rabaey@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 59 76

Wim Soetaert (Steering Committee)

Industrial biotechnology and biocatalysis, fermentation science and engineering

E wim.soetaert@ugent.be

T +32 9 264 60 83